Information about federal states, districts, places & cities

.: Search places in Germany
.: Alphabetical directory of places in Germany
You are here: Places in Germany -> Extras -> Official municipality key

.: Official municipality key

The official municipality key (German: Amtlicher Gemeindeschl├╝ssel, AGS), is a numeric key that is assigned to every municipality in Germany to uniquely identify it.
The official municipality key consists of 8 digits.

The first two digits stand for the federal state, the next three digits identify the district and the last three digits identify the municipality.

Using the search function Search places by official municipality key you can display all places for any given official municipality key.

Digits for the federal states (first and second digit of the official municipality key)
01 Schleswig-Holstein
02 Hamburg
03 Lower Saxony
04 Bremen
05 North Rhine Westfalia
06 Hesse
07 Rhineland-Palatinate
08 Baden-Wuerttemberg
09 Bavaria
10 Saarland
11 Berlin

12 Brandenburg
13 Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
14 Saxony
15 Saxony-Anhalt
16 Thuringia

Initially, the list contained only the numbers 1 to 11 for the eleven old German federal states. After the German reunification in 1990, the five new states were added in alphabetical order with the numbers 12 to 16 to this list.

Permalink to this page

Please feel free to link directly to this page. Simply copy the link into your website by clicking in the text box above and copy the highlighted code with CTRL + C. You can then paste the code in your website by pressing CTRL + V.

Official municipality key